Zepto Delivery Partner vs Dark-Store Picker/Packer in Chennai

The short answer

These are not two versions of one job. Zepto's own rider site onboards delivery partners directly and states you must be 18+ with Aadhaar, PAN and a smartphone, that a driving licence matters only if you ride a bike, and it advertises ₹15 to ₹45 per order as a typical figure with no city, cost or volume basis attached. A dark-store picker/packer role is work inside an establishment, and since 21 November 2025 the labour codes make an appointment letter mandatory for all workers. We are not publishing a Chennai pay figure for either role, because no official source publishes one. Decide on vehicle access and legal status first.

On this pageThe comparison, and where it honestly runs out

Vehicle access decides this before money does. If you do not ride, and do not want to, the picker/packer side of a dark store is the only one of these two that keeps you off the road for the whole shift. If you do ride, Zepto onboards delivery partners itself, through its own rider site, and publishes the eligibility rules openly.

The second thing that decides it is what you become on paper. A Zepto delivery partner and a dark-store picker sit on opposite sides of a line that Indian law only finished drawing in November 2025. One is a platform worker. The other is a worker in an establishment. Those two words carry different documents, different hour limits and different money mechanics, and almost nobody explains that before you fill in a form.

Money comes third here, and this page deliberately does not rank the two roles by pay. No official source publishes a Chennai rate for either, and we will not invent one.

The comparison, and where it honestly runs out

Sourced on both sides for legal status and eligibility. Thin on one side for the operational detail, because the picker/packer role is filled through channels that publish far less than Zepto's rider site does.

DimensionZepto delivery partner (rider)Dark-store picker / packer
Where you spend the shiftOn the road between the store and customersInside one store, whole shift
VehicleNot required to own one. Zepto's rider site states you can use a bike, scooter or electric vehicle, and that Zepto "may also assist you get one through its associated vendors subject to availability"None
Driving licenceNeeded only if you own and ride a bike, per the same page; a low-speed electric bike or electric cycle is stated as not requiring oneNot applicable
Minimum documents stated18+, Aadhaar and PAN, and a smartphone to use the Zepto app (rider.zepto.co.in)Not publicly verified. Ask who issues the appointment letter
Legal categoryGig / platform worker as defined in the Code on Social Security, 2020 sections 2(35), 2(60) and 2(61), which place the arrangement "outside of traditional employer employee relationship"Worker in an establishment. The Ministry of Labour's 21 November 2025 release states mandatory appointment letters for all workers as a general effect of the codes (PIB)
Working-hour limitThe rider page states "You decide your own schedule". We did not source any statutory hours provision reaching platform workNot publicly verified for retail or dark-store work. See the note below the table on why we did not carry the government release's 8 to 12 hour figure into this row
Pay unitPer order. Zepto's page states "Typically, you can earn ₹15 - ₹45 per order"Not publicly verified for Chennai
Social security routeAggregator-funded. Zepto is one of 12 aggregators onboarded on the e-Shram aggregator module (PIB)Employer/principal-employer route: PF, ESIC and the other benefits the codes extend to workers
Lifting, standing, targetsNot publicly verifiedNot publicly verified
Payout timingNot publicly verified. The rider site does not state a payout cycleNot publicly verified

Read the empty cells as information, not as a gap we forgot to fill. Zepto publishes rider eligibility because it recruits riders directly. Store-side roles reach you through a longer chain, and that chain publishes less.

One cell needs its own explanation, because we removed a number from it. The Ministry of Labour's 21 November 2025 release does contain the figures "8 -12 hours per day, 48 hours per week" and overtime "consent based and pay at least double the normal wage rate". It states them inside its sector-by-sector list, under beedi and cigar workers, mine workers, audio-visual and digital media workers and MSME workers. It does not state them as a rule covering every establishment, and it says nothing about retail or warehouse work. Carrying that number into a dark-store row would have been us generalising a government document past what it says. What the hours rule actually is for a Chennai dark store sits in the OSHWC Code and the Tamil Nadu rules made under it, and we have not sourced that here.

What Zepto itself says about riding

Everything in this section comes from Zepto's own delivery-partner site at rider.zepto.co.in. It is national onboarding copy, not a Chennai rate card, and it carries no visible "as of" date of its own. It is also client-rendered marketing copy that can change without notice, so read the current wording on the page yourself before you plan around it.

Eligibility is stated plainly: at least 18 years old, a valid ID card described on the page as Aadhaar and PAN, and a smartphone to run the Zepto app. The vehicle answer is looser than most people expect. The page says you do not need to own a vehicle, lists bike, scooter and electric vehicle as acceptable, and says Zepto may assist you in getting one through associated vendors, subject to availability. On licences it says a valid driver's licence is needed only if you own and use a bike, and that a low-speed electric bike or electric cycle does not require one.

That last line is worth pausing on. Whether a specific electric two-wheeler needs registration and a licence depends on its motor rating and top speed under central motor-vehicle rules, not on what a recruiter says at the store. Check the exact model with the transport department before you buy or rent anything on the strength of a job.

Pay is described as a per-order figure: "Typically, you can earn ₹15 - ₹45 per order." The same page also runs a headline that riders can earn up to ₹45,000 per month. Treat those two statements differently. The per-order band is a pay unit you can reason about. The monthly headline is an advertised maximum with no published method, order volume, time period, city split or cost basis, so it cannot plan a month. Fuel, maintenance, phone data and unpaid waiting all sit outside it.

On schedule, the page states there is no obligation to work on any specific day and that you decide your own schedule. Insurance appears in two separate places on it. An FAQ answer says Zepto provides accident insurance coverage while you are performing delivery duties. A benefits tile, elsewhere on the page, is captioned "Insurance Cover" with the line "Up to ₹10 lakhs for you & family". The page does not join those two statements, and neither does this article: it publishes no policy document, no sum insured per event, no exclusions and no claim process. Until you have seen those, treat the cover as stated but unscoped, and do not assume the ₹10 lakh figure is what an accident claim would pay.

The dark-store side, and how to read its listings

A dark store is a small warehouse that only fulfils app orders. No customers walk in. You have probably passed a shuttered one on a residential street in Velachery or Avadi without registering what it was. The picking work is indoor, repetitive and clock-driven, and it is the obvious answer for anyone searching bike illama velai, work without a bike.

There is no equivalent of the rider site on this side. No operator publishes Chennai pick targets, lifting limits, shift patterns or a rate card the way Zepto publishes rider eligibility, and we are not going to invent any of it. What we can give you is the reading skill, because the listings you will find are written in a small, repeating vocabulary, and most of what matters is in what they leave out.

What the ad words actually mean

The job title is decoration. Picker, packer, sorter, store associate, fulfilment executive, warehouse helper and operations executive are used interchangeably for overlapping work. The title tells you nothing binding about tasks, hours or pay unit. Two ads with the same title at two stores can be two different jobs.

A brand name in the headline is not an employer. "Zepto store job" in a listing headline is a search magnet. It does not establish who signs your appointment letter. Quick-commerce store operations can run through franchise, vendor or manpower arrangements, so the name on the signboard, the name in the ad and the name on your paperwork can all be different. This is the single most common gap between what a listing implies and what you are actually agreeing to.

"Immediate joining" and "walk-in" describe the recruiter, not the vacancy. They tell you the hiring side is in a hurry. They tell you nothing about how long the role lasts, whether the shift is fixed, or whether the pay basis in the ad is what you will be paid.

A monthly figure with no hours attached is not a wage. If an ad says a monthly amount but never states the shift length, the days per week or the overtime rule, you cannot convert it into anything. Ask for the pay unit before you ask for the amount.

"No experience needed" is usually true and usually irrelevant. It is not a benefit specific to that employer. It describes the whole category. Do not let it stand in for the terms that are missing.

The worksheet: fill this from the listings you actually find

Run your own search, on whichever platform you use, and pull these out of each ad. The blank rows are the point. An ad that leaves five of these blank is telling you something about how the role is run.

What to pull out of the adWhy it decides somethingWhat to do when the ad does not say
Employer's legal name, as distinct from the brandThis is who owes you money and who issues the appointment letterAsk directly, in writing, before you attend. Treat a refusal as your answer
Exact store location or zoneDecides your commute, your last bus or metro, and whether a night shift is workableAsk for the address, not the area. "Chennai" is not a location
Pay unit: per hour, per shift, per day or per monthFour different promises. Only one of them survives a slow dayAsk which one, then ask what happens if the store is quiet
Shift length and start/end timesDetermines whether this fits around a class, another job or a family dutyAsk for the roster in writing, not the range
Days per week, and whether the week is fixedA "part-time" ad with a six-day requirement is a full-time commitmentAsk before you accept, not after your first week
Whether an appointment letter will be issued, and by whomSince 21 November 2025 the codes state this is mandatory for all workersIts absence is not a paperwork delay. It is the thing the law now expects to exist
Any fee, deposit, kit or uniform charge, with the amount and who receives itAn official, written term is verifiable. A payment to a personal account is notGet it in writing with a refund rule and a payment channel, or walk
Physical requirements actually stated: lifting, standing, cold storageNobody publishes this, so the ad's silence is normal and your question is not rudeAsk what the heaviest routine item is and whether there is a seat anywhere
Payout cycle and methodWeekly, monthly and "after the month closes" are very different cash-flow livesAsk who confirms it and get the answer from the employer, not the recruiter

Do that for four or five real ads and you will have something no aggregated salary page can give you: a picture of what is actually being offered near you, this week, with the gaps visible.

One limit worth holding on to while you do it. An advertisement proves only its own displayed language. It does not prove a vacancy is open, that the recruiter is genuine, that anyone was hired, or that anyone earned the advertised amount.

What the law does say

What can be said now is structural, and it matters more than a pay figure. Work inside an establishment is employment or contract labour, and since 21 November 2025 the four labour codes are in force. Reading the Ministry of Labour's release of that date, three of its changes are stated as general, not tied to one sector: appointment letters are mandatory for all workers, all workers including gig and platform workers are to get PF, ESIC, insurance and other social security benefits under the Code on Social Security, and ESIC coverage is extended pan-India, voluntary below ten employees and mandatory where even one worker is engaged in a hazardous process. Everything else in that release comes in a numbered list by worker category. Read the release itself rather than a summary of a summary, and check which numbered category, if any, your work sits in.

If a store-side offer in Chennai comes with no appointment letter and no named employer, that is not a minor paperwork gap. It is the document the law now expects to exist.

The word that changes in November 2025

Before the codes came into force, a rider and a picker were both, loosely, "gig workers" in ordinary conversation. They are not the same thing in law now.

The Code on Social Security, 2020 defines a gig worker at section 2(35) as "a person who performs work or participates in a work arrangement and earns from such activities outside of traditional employer-employee relationship". Section 2(60) defines platform work as an arrangement, again outside a traditional employer-employee relationship, in which organisations or individuals use an online platform to access others to provide specific services in exchange for payment. Section 2(2) defines an aggregator as "a digital intermediary or a market place for a buyer or user of a service to connect with the seller or the service provider". Section 114(4) sets the aggregator contribution at a rate "not exceeding two per cent., but not less than one per cent., as may be notified by the Central Government" of annual turnover, for aggregators falling within the categories in the Seventh Schedule, and caps it at five per cent of what the aggregator pays or owes its gig and platform workers.

Read section 114(5) in the same breath: "The date of commencement of contribution from aggregator under this section shall be notified by the Central Government." The rate is to be notified and the start date is to be notified. So this is the rider's route to cover on paper. Whether money is moving into that fund today, for Zepto or anyone else, is a separate question, and we did not source an answer to it.

The registration side of it is already moving. The Ministry launched an aggregator module on the e-Shram portal on 12 December 2024, and its Rajya Sabha reply on social security for gig and platform workers, dated 29 January 2026, names 12 aggregators onboarded as at that date, Zepto among them, alongside Zomato, Blinkit, Swiggy, Uber, Ola, Amazon, Rapido, Porter, Urban Company, Ecom Express and Uncle Delivery. The same reply records the 2025-26 Budget measures for platform workers: e-Shram registration, identity cards, and health cover under Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY. e-Shram itself is the national database of unorganised workers, gig and platform workers included, and it is Aadhaar-seeded.

None of that is automatic. Being onboarded as an aggregator is not the same as you personally holding a registration, an identity card or a claim you can make. Ask, in the app, whether your e-Shram registration has actually been done, and get the number.

Before you accept either one

Brand names travel further than employers do. A listing that says Zepto does not prove Zepto is paying you. Cross-check the same five things whichever role you pick.

  1. Who issues and signs the appointment letter or partner agreement, and does that name match the signboard? For store-side work the letter is now expected under the codes.
  2. Is the onboarding happening on an official surface, an official app or an official domain, or on a recruiter's personal phone number?
  3. Is any fee, deposit or kit charge stated in the official terms, with the amount, refund rule and payment channel written down? An official kit or deposit term is a thing to verify, not automatic proof of fraud. A request to pay an individual's personal account is a serious warning signal. Our 10-point check on gig apps covers the rest.
  4. What is the pay unit, in writing? Per order, per hour, per shift or per month are four different promises, and only one of them survives a slow day.
  5. What is the payout cycle and who confirms it? Neither role's cycle is published on the surfaces we could reach, so this is a question, not a lookup.

Two patterns are worth watching for while you check, because they cost nothing to test. If the same phone number appears under several different employer names across listings, you are talking to an intermediary, and you still do not know who employs you. And if every answer about pay, hours and paperwork arrives verbally and none of it arrives in writing, that is the answer.

What we could not verify

Publishing this list is the point of the page.

  • Chennai-specific pay for either role, from any official source. Zepto's ₹15 to ₹45 per order is national and undated on its face.
  • Payout frequency and method for Zepto delivery partners.
  • Who legally employs pickers and packers at Chennai dark stores, and whether that is the brand, a franchise operator or a manpower vendor.
  • Pick targets, lifting weights, shift lengths, break structure and standing time in a Chennai dark store.
  • The scope, sum insured, exclusions and claim process behind the accident cover stated on Zepto's rider page.
  • Whether any specific low-speed electric two-wheeler is exempt from licence and registration requirements. That is a transport-department question, and we have not sourced it here.
  • The statutory daily and weekly hours limit, and the overtime rate, that actually apply to a picker or packer in a Chennai dark store. The government release we used states its hours and overtime figures under named worker categories that do not include retail or warehouse work, so we did not reuse them here. The answer sits in the OSHWC Code and the Tamil Nadu rules under it, unsourced on this page.
  • Whether aggregator contributions under section 114 have commenced. The Code leaves both the rate and the commencement date to be notified, and we did not locate the notification.
  • Any Tamil Nadu minimum-wage notification for shops and establishments that would set a floor for the store-side role.
  • Whether Zepto currently has open roles of either kind in Chennai on any given day.

Anything in that list that later gets a primary source will be added with its date. Nothing in that list will be filled in with an estimate.


About the publisher. This page is published by Hustl, which is an interested party. Hustl is live in public beta in Chennai as a hyperlocal marketplace for in-person shifts, with activity concentrated in Avadi and Velachery. Hustl has no affiliation with Zepto and does not offer rider or dark-store picker/packer roles. Anyone 18 or over in India can sign up, as a Hustler or as a business, with no joining fee. The Hustl team verifies every account and its documents manually before it goes live. Verified Partners post real shifts using free beta credits, and paid partner billing is not live. The app shows pay, timing, location and tasks before you book. You check in by scanning the Partner's rotating QR code, with location recorded when available, and check out with the Partner's rotating six-digit OTP. Finish your shift, submit your rating, and you are paid to your linked UPI ID within minutes.* Hustlers are independent contractors, not employees, and availability varies, so check the app for shifts open near you right now. The Hustler and Partner web apps are the current surfaces; native iOS and Android apps arrive with our first stable release.

For the general market picture in the city, see what public data shows about Chennai part-time pay. If the fixed-venue side is what appeals to you, retail store helper work sits in the same indoor category, and 12th-pass fresher routes cover the qualification question this page does not. A broader app-by-app comparison exists separately.

Corrections, including from any company named here, go to support@hustl.today.


* Hustl is in public beta and the payment gateway is not integrated yet, so each payout is released by our team rather than automatically. It is usually under 2 minutes, typically 2-5 minutes, and no more than 10 minutes after you complete your shift and submit your rating.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a bike to become a Zepto delivery partner?

Zepto's rider site states you do not need to own a vehicle, that you can use a bike, scooter or electric vehicle, and that Zepto may help you get one through associated vendors subject to availability. The same page says a driving licence is needed only if you own and ride a bike, and that a low-speed electric bike or electric cycle does not require one. Confirm the current requirement in the Zepto delivery partner app before you plan around it, and confirm the licence and registration status of any specific electric vehicle with the transport department, not with a recruiter.

Is a dark-store picker/packer job the same as a Zepto job?

Not necessarily. A listing that names a brand does not prove that the brand is the employer. Store operations at quick-commerce companies can run through franchise, vendor or manpower arrangements, and the entity that pays you may be different from the entity on the signboard. Ask who issues the appointment letter and whose name is on it before you agree to anything.

Which one pays more in Chennai?

We are not publishing a Chennai pay comparison for these two roles, because no official source publishes a Chennai rate for either. Zepto's rider page states a typical ₹15 to ₹45 per order nationally, with no city breakdown, no cost basis and no time period. Anyone quoting you a confident monthly figure for both roles is estimating.

Filed under: Earning in Chennai

Start earning on Hustl

Free account, no joining fee. Hustl is live in public beta in Chennai — book shifts from businesses our team has verified, then finish, rate, and get paid to your linked UPI ID within minutes.*

Start earning

Hustl is in public beta and the payment gateway is not integrated yet, so each payout is released by our team rather than automatically. It is usually under 2 minutes, typically 2-5 minutes, and no more than 10 minutes after you complete your shift and submit your rating.