Swiggy and Zomato both run a public delivery-partner page, and neither one tells you what a part-time rider takes home in Chennai. What the two pages do settle, when you read them side by side, is the entry cost and the shape of the arrangement. Both want you at 18 or older. Both say an onboarding fee is collected. Both name a bank account as the destination, though only one of the two pages agrees with itself about when. And only one page describes a way in without your own two-wheeler, which for a lot of people in Chennai is the row that decides the whole question.
Everything below comes from the two companies' own delivery-partner pages, read on 5 August 2026. Where a page contradicts itself, that is recorded rather than smoothed over.
What the two official pages say, checked 5 August 2026
| Dimension | Swiggy, ride.swiggy.com | Zomato, zomato.com/deliver-food |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | "Be at least 18 years old" | "You must be at least 18 years old" |
| Vehicle | Requirements panel says "Two-wheeler for deliveries"; FAQ says you can rent a bike, e-bike or cycle and Swiggy "may also be able to help you connect with vendors" | "A two-wheeler that meets all applicable law and safety requirements"; partners "use their own vehicles (Bike/Cycle)" |
| Licence | "A valid driver's license"; document list marks it "not needed for cycle" | "Driving License, Registration Certificate (RC) and Insurance Certificate" |
| Phone | Not stated on the page | "Android phone of version 6.0 or higher with at least 2GB of RAM" |
| Documents | Aadhaar or Voter card, PAN card, driving licence, bank details; "In case you don't have any of these documents, don't worry - you can share them later" | Address proof, "A valid PAN (Permanent Account Number) Card", "Bank Account proof", plus DL, RC and insurance certificate |
| Joining fee | "The onboarding fee is around ₹1500 and it varies from city to city. This fee is deducted in multiple installments after your onboarding." | "One time, or a fixed amount is collected from a delivery partner in various installments for training and support purposes"; amount shown in the self sign-up app |
| What you are | "This is not a delivery job rather this is a paid partnership between you and Swiggy" | "Zomato Delivery Partners are independent contractors" |
| Pay basis | "compensated basis number of deliveries completed" | "You will be working on an earn per delivery model, you will earn for each delivery you make" |
| Payout | FAQ: "Swiggy will transfer your earnings every week directly into your bank account." Benefits strapline on the same page: "With Daily payouts" | "We will transfer your earnings on a weekly basis directly in your bank account" |
| Bonuses | "Exciting earnings with Weekend Bonuses!" under the part-time option | Starting Bonus and Referral Bonus, "which vary across cities" |
| Insurance wording (promotional; no policy, sum insured, exclusions or claim route published on either page) | "insurance of up to Rs 12 lakhs for you and your family" | "personal accidental life and health insurance" |
| Other promotional lines | "Onboard within 24 hrs" on the benefits strip | "Safety kit" panel offering "pepper spray and a torch for women rider safety". Reported as published copy; the page states no scope, no distribution rule and no eligibility, and it is not a safety assurance |
| Screening | Not stated on the page | "our team will run a background check after which you can start delivering orders" |
| Chennai figures | None published | None published |
The joining fee is real on both, and neither publishes the Chennai number
This is the part most comparison articles skip, and it is the one with money attached on day one.
Swiggy's FAQ names a figure: around ₹1500, varying by city, deducted in multiple installments after onboarding. Zomato's FAQ names no figure at all and pushes you into the self sign-up app to see "the current onboarding fees applicable in your city". Neither page says the fee is refundable if you stop after two weeks. Neither page publishes what Chennai actually charges.
An upfront cost on a platform-partner page is not automatically a scam, and it should not be treated as one. It is a verification trigger. The published amount, the payment channel, the recipient, and the refund position are the four things to confirm in writing before any money moves, and the only place to confirm them is the platform's own app or onboarding centre. A request to transfer a joining fee to an individual recruiter's personal account is a different thing entirely and belongs nowhere near either official flow.
If you want the longer verification routine for any platform that asks for money before you start, we keep it in how to check whether a gig app is legit.
Swiggy's page says daily and weekly on the same screen
Read the Swiggy delivery-partner page from top to bottom and you get two different payout stories. A benefits strapline near the top reads "With Daily payouts". The FAQ, further down the same page, says "Swiggy will transfer your earnings every week directly into your bank account." Swiggy's corporate page describes the arrangement more loosely still, as "regular payouts with exciting bonuses and incentives".
We are not going to resolve that for you by picking the friendlier line. Two statements of equal standing on the same official surface disagree, so the payout-timing dimension stays open and does not feed into any recommendation on this page. If a daily settlement matters to your household budget, that is a question to put to the onboarding centre and get answered in writing, because the published copy will not settle it.
Zomato is consistent here. Its payment FAQ ("We will transfer your earnings on a weekly basis directly in your bank account"), its benefits panel ("Get Paid Weekly") and the page's own meta description ("earn weekly payments") all say the same thing. Consistency is not a promise about what actually lands, only about what the page states.
You are not applying for a job on either platform
Both pages say this in their own words, and it is worth reading them literally.
Zomato: "Zomato Delivery Partners are independent contractors, who are required to pick up food or grocery items ordered by customers from restaurants / outlets and deliver to customers."
Swiggy: "This is not a delivery job rather this is a paid partnership between you and Swiggy where you will be compensated basis number of deliveries completed."
That framing has consequences you will feel in month three rather than week one. There is no roster to fall back on, no fixed monthly figure, and the insurance described on both pages is a benefit offered by the platform rather than an employer's statutory cover. Both pages advertise insurance in a single promotional line; neither publishes the policy, the sum insured conditions, the exclusions, or the claim route on that page. Ask for the policy document before you treat cover as settled.
Scale, for context: Eternal, the listed parent that describes itself as "formerly Zomato", says "600,000+ delivery partners earn their livelihood through Zomato". Swiggy's own page claims "2 Lakh+" delivery partners across "500+" cities. Neither number is a Chennai number, and neither says anything about how many are working part-time.
The vehicle row is where the two genuinely part company
Zomato's requirements list is unambiguous: a two-wheeler meeting applicable law and safety requirements, plus driving licence, registration certificate and insurance certificate. If you do not have a bike, or the bike is in your father's name and the RC and insurance do not match your documents, that list is your blocker.
Swiggy's page gives two answers depending on where you look. The requirements panel lists a two-wheeler and a valid driver's licence. The FAQ, answering "I don't have any vehicle. Can I still become a delivery partner?", says: "Yes. You can rent a bike/e-bike/cycle for deliveries. Swiggy may also be able to help you connect with vendors to make the vehicle available. Please reach out to your nearest onboarding centre for more details." That last sentence is Swiggy's own hedge and we are keeping it in. The document list separately marks the driving licence as "not needed for cycle".
For a student in Avadi with no vehicle and no licence, that is the difference between an application and a dead end. It is also exactly the kind of claim that varies by onboarding centre, so treat the cycle route as something to confirm locally rather than something the website has promised you.
Rental changes the arithmetic, though. A rented bike is a fixed weekly outgoing whether you get orders or not, and neither page publishes rental rates. That cost belongs in the next section, not in the headline.
The cost side, which neither page shows you
Swiggy's banner advertises "Earn Up to ₹30,000/month". Two things about that line: it says "up to", and the same page's FAQ says "Your earning on Swiggy depends upon your city and the number of orders you deliver", then tells you to download the app to find out. It is not a Chennai figure, it carries no stated hours, and it is gross.
The only version of this question that can be answered honestly is the one you calculate yourself, from one real week. Take a week you actually worked and fill in:
- A. Total amount credited to your bank for that week, including incentives and bonuses.
- B. Petrol or charging for that week, from your own bills.
- C. Vehicle cost for that week: rental or EMI, plus a share of service, tyres, insurance and any repair you paid for in the last six months divided across the weeks.
- D. Mobile data, parking, and anything you paid the platform in installments that week, including the onboarding fee deduction.
- E. Hours you were logged in and available, not hours you were moving.
Then: (A − B − C − D) ÷ E. That is your effective hourly rate for that week, and it is the only number in this article that describes you rather than a market.
Two caveats about that worksheet. It is a hypothetical structure built from your inputs, not observed market data, and it will vary week to week with rain, festival demand and how far your allocated zone drags you. Depreciation on your own vehicle is not in it, so it flatters ownership slightly over rental.
For the general version of this arithmetic across any kind of side income, we walk through it in budgeting gig earnings as a student, and what public data shows about Chennai part-time pay covers the market-level picture that this page deliberately does not.
How to read a Chennai delivery listing, since neither platform publishes one
Everything above comes from two national pages with no city qualifier on them. That has a consequence worth stating plainly: almost every Chennai-specific detail you will actually encounter — a rupee figure, a joining date, a zone, a fee, a "no bike needed" line — reaches you from somewhere other than Swiggy or Zomato. A recruiter's listing on a job app, a WhatsApp forward, a poster near a signal. That does not make any of it false. It makes it unverified, and the checking is yours.
We have not run a listing sample for this page and we are not going to describe one we did not run. What follows is the reading routine instead, which is the part you can use on whatever listing is actually in front of you today.
1. Establish who posted it. The two official routes are Swiggy's own onboarding flow and Zomato's self sign-up app, both reachable from the pages linked in the table above. Anything else is a third party. Third-party recruiters do genuinely onboard riders for both platforms, so a recruiter listing is not automatically illegitimate — but it also cannot tell you anything binding about the platform's terms, because the recruiter did not write them. Check whether the contact is a company domain or a personal mobile number with no employer identity attached. The second is not an employer.
2. Work out what the pay line is measuring. Both platforms publish an earn-per-delivery model. Zomato states it outright; Swiggy says you are "compensated basis number of deliveries completed". So any listing quoting a per-day or per-month figure is projecting an order volume, not quoting a rate. Ask which of these the number is: per delivery, per hour logged in, per day, or per month. Ask whether it is before or after the fee deduction. Ask how many login hours it assumes. A figure without those three answers is not comparable to anything.
3. Sort the requirements into platform rules and listing claims. Run the listing against the table above. If it says a licence is not needed, that is consistent with Swiggy's cycle line and inconsistent with Zomato's requirements list — which tells you something about which platform the listing is really for, or whether the poster has read either page. If it demands documents neither official page asks for, that is a question, not a disqualification, but ask it before you hand anything over.
4. Pin down every rupee flowing away from you. Amount, recipient, channel, refund position. Swiggy publishes around ₹1500, varying by city, deducted in installments after onboarding. Zomato publishes no amount and points to its app. A listing that quotes a different figure, that wants money before onboarding, or that wants it into a named individual's account rather than through the platform's own flow, has departed from what either company publishes, and that gap is the thing to resolve before you pay.
5. Notice what the listing does not say. Zone allocation and whether you can change it. Expected login hours. Whether the onboarding fee is refundable. Whether the cycle route works at that specific centre. What the insurance policy actually covers. None of these appear on either official page either, which is precisely why they belong on the list of things to ask.
Take these to the onboarding centre and ask for the answers in writing:
- Which zone will I be allocated, and can I change it later?
- What is the exact onboarding fee here, in how many installments, and is any part of it refundable if I stop?
- Am I paid weekly or daily, and into which account?
- If I do not own a two-wheeler, can I onboard on a rented cycle or e-bike at this centre?
- May I see the insurance policy document, the sum insured, and the exclusions?
- Are you Swiggy or Zomato staff, or a third-party recruiter working for them?
An advertisement proves only its own wording. It does not prove a vacancy is open, that a recruiter is trustworthy, that anybody was hired, or that anybody earned what it says. Where a listing and the official page disagree, the official page is better evidence of the terms — and the onboarding centre is better evidence of what will actually happen to you.
What we could not verify
- Chennai onboarding fee amounts on either platform. Both pages defer to the app or the onboarding centre.
- Whether either onboarding fee is refundable, and under what conditions.
- Insurance scope on both platforms. Both advertise cover in a promotional line; neither publishes the policy, sum insured conditions, exclusions or claim route on the delivery-partner page.
- Swiggy's payout frequency. Daily and weekly both appear on the same official page. Unresolved, and excluded from every conclusion here.
- Whether the Swiggy cycle route is available at Chennai onboarding centres, as opposed to available in principle.
- Licence and vehicle-registration rules for commercial delivery use in Tamil Nadu. We could not reach a stable official transport-department page at capture time, so this article makes no statement about it. Confirm with your RTO.
- Any Chennai-specific earnings figure for either platform. None exists in a source we would accept.
One small thing worth noticing while you read either page: Swiggy's testimonial block carries the same quotation twice, both times under the name Pranav, but with two different photos and two different descriptions of the same person (one "Delivery partner", one "B.Com student"). We are not reading anything into that beyond the obvious point, which is that a testimonial strip on an onboarding page is marketing copy, and that applies to us as much as to them. Read the FAQ instead. Zomato's footer, for its part, still carries a "2008-2019" copyright line, which is a reasonable prompt to check the app for anything time-sensitive rather than trusting the page.
Where Hustl sits, and why we are not a neutral referee
Publisher disclosure and current status. This article is published by Hustl, and we are an interested party in the Chennai work market. We are not comparing ourselves to Swiggy or Zomato on this page, and nothing here should be read as Hustl offering delivery work. We do not offer it.
Hustl is live in public beta in Chennai: a hyperlocal marketplace for short in-person shifts, with activity concentrated in Avadi and Velachery. Signup is open to anyone 18 or older in India, and to businesses. The Hustl team verifies every account and its documents manually before a Hustler can work or a Partner can post — that is a person at Hustl reading a submission, not an automated check. Verified Partners post real shifts using free beta credits during the beta. Check-in is by scanning the Partner's rotating QR code, with location recorded when the device supplies it; check-out uses the Partner's rotating six-digit OTP. Partner and admin overrides exist as fallbacks, are recorded separately, and carry different evidence. Once a shift is complete and the Hustler has submitted their shift rating, pay is released to the Hustler's linked UPI ID. Native iOS and Android apps arrive with our first stable release; the Hustler and Partner web apps are the current surfaces. Hustl is a technology marketplace, Hustlers are independent contractors rather than our employees, and we do not guarantee earnings, hours, or that a shift is open in any given area.
Corrections, including from Swiggy or Zomato: support@hustl.today.
Best fit, without a winner
Neither platform wins this comparison, because the published evidence does not support a winner. What it supports is three conditional readings:
If you have no vehicle and no licence, Swiggy's page is the only one of the two that describes a route in, through a rented cycle or e-bike. Confirm it at a Chennai onboarding centre before you plan around it, and put the rental into the cost worksheet before you decide it is cheaper.
If you own a two-wheeler with the RC and insurance in your own name, both pages accept you and the choice comes down to things neither page publishes: zone allocation, order density near where you live, and the actual Chennai fee. Sample both onboarding flows before paying either fee.
If a specific payout schedule is the thing your budget depends on, this page cannot answer you, and it is not going to pretend otherwise. Swiggy's own page says weekly in one place and daily in another as of 5 August 2026, so the dimension is unresolved and is deliberately kept out of the two readings above. Zomato's page at least repeats one answer, but page copy is not a settlement record either. Put the question to the onboarding centre and get the answer in writing before you build a budget on it. It is the row we would most want a correction on.
If neither reading fits, the broader options are in how to earn money in Chennai and the wider app roundup in best apps to earn money in Chennai.
This page gets re-read against both official sources every quarter, and immediately if either platform changes its stated terms.